• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

A question about SCJD study guide

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Ranchers!

A simple opinion about SCJD study guide by Monkhouse & Camerlengo.
I'm new to SCJD topics (Swing, Java networking, etc). Is it more helpful
to study that book WHILE or BEFORE working on the assignment?

Thanx

Best regards to all Ranchers!

Barry.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Going from the first edition, you will not understand what a lot of the talk is about unless you have your assignment printed out and sitting next to you while reading the book.

author and jackaroo
Mac IntelliJ IDE Firefox Browser Oracle C++ Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Interesting observation Jeroen - that is not something I would have expected.

I cant speak for the intent of the first edition, but when writing the second edition Max, Terry and I wanted to write a book that stood on it's own. That is, even if you had no intention of ever going for the SCJD you would still find the book flowed well, and you would learn many of the features of JDK 1.5 while we discussed an end-to-end project.