• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

some exam advice

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I passed the exam last month; here are some observations about the exam and my preparation:
- as far as mocks, I studied the first 2 Marcus exams and found the similarity to the real exam remarkable (mainly the length
of code and the type of phrasing used)/ I also took the Brogden exams several times
- during the last 2 weeks before the exam, I hit I/O and awt hard, thanks to the tips on the Ranch, memorizing all listener interfaces and I/O constructors...
some of this may have been overkill but it helped my confidence going into the test
- one of the most useful things one can do is to really pore over the exam objectives on the Sun site, they basically tell you the spirit of what you are expected to know ...and I found that you could really read between the lines and come up with a clear strategy
- on the test itself, the thread q's came halfway through, and proved difficult, but I marked them and came back later...the awt wasn't terribly difficult but it was expansive, some q's required a wide knowledge of layout managers, something like 6 choices of which 2 were right/ inner classes were also big on the test