• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Real world example of RMI

Ranch Hand
C++ Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello All,
I am just learning about RMI by reading Sun's tutorial (great article!), and I am finding it very fascinating! What I would like to know is, can someone provide a real world example of how this could be used? Why would this be used as opposed to some other distributed computing method, such as servlet, applet, EJB, etc.? Even though I understand how it works, I guess I am not grasping the concept of how it would be used in the real world. What are the pros and cons? If someone could provide a real world scenario, (the simpler the better) I would greatly appreciate it.
Many thanks,
Barry

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There are many real life examples of RMI.For example in a classroom equipped with PC.When the teacher moves his mouse,the mouse cursor is moved on every computer.This is a very simple rral life example.You can find more @ DevShed

High Plains Drifter
Netbeans IDE VI Editor
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Swordfish
Your name does not conform to JavaRanch's naming policy. Please read the policy and change your name appropriately.