• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Is API different from Spec?(Newbie question)

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am a JSF newbie.
Is api different from Spec?
Let me elaborate my question:
Following is the Sun's Jee 5.0 API and it has 13 packages related to JSF(faces):
http://java.sun.com/javaee/5/docs/api/
Following is the apache's API of its implementation which has the same number of packages.
http://myfaces.apache.org/core12/myfaces-api/apidocs/index.html

So, can I deduce that API is the same as RI? Or is API different from Spec?
If they want, can the apache group add any more classes/packages to the above API? in other words, can they add more classes or packages?
What is Spec? What is API? What is RI?
Are there any more implementors of JSF Spec other than Apache?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
JSF is an specification created by SUN. The RI is the implementation developed directly by SUN and MyFaces is the one developed by Apache.

Shodhak Pari
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks for your quick and useful reply. However, I have some more questions unanswered.