• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Webservices made easier ?

Sheriff
IntelliJ IDE Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Mark,

First of all, welcome to Javaranch. Good to have you here

I have some working knowledge of webservices (have tried out some helloworld examples and have been involved in a project which uses webservices), but you can consider me a newbie. With whatever little that i have tried out with the examples, i did find that getting started with a webservice wasnt easy. However, with some working experience in other areas of J2EE which includes EJB, i believe that it would be the same for all other technologies too.

But with some of the discussions that have been going on and also looking at one of the reviews for your book, i do see that webservices are considered to be not so easy. Java 5 is supposed to make things easier. Which part of webservices is going to be made easier in Java 5. Any specific areas which you could tell us which you feel were considered to be not so easy in webservices, earlier?

Thanks.

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks for your welcome

There are a lot of way that Java EE 5 makes Web Services easier than in J2SE 1.4. Here are a few:

JAX-WS instead of JAX-RPC
=========================