• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Axis2 web service question

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi!

Please pardon this question but I'm a total newbe on Web Services.
I want to create some web services for my applications. Webservices is mainly called from applets but I must also be able to call them from PHP.

Is this possible? Are their any limitations if I use Axis2? Will the applet become heavy in load if I must include axis in applet path?

Author and all-around good cowpoke
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
SOAP in general is a pretty heavy-weight protocol - lots of parsing overhead and big libraries. You may be able to get by with a much simpler protocol for getting the data to the applet and the PHP application.

I suggest you look into the REST style of web services which I attempted to summarize in this article.

How about an example of the data you want the applet to get.

Bill

Mathias Nilsson
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks for that reply.