• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Does j2me support dynamic loading of libraries?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am new to j2me and have a couple of questions:
1) There is so much talk about j2me enabled phones in the market these days. What OS do these phones support?
2) When we talk of java class library, are we actually talking about the class files? Is there anything akin to a dll in java? Is there a way by which we can use existing dlls in j2me?
3) Is there a way to dynamically load libraries in j2me akin to dynamic loading of libraries that we have in windows?
3) Does j2me support COM? Is it possible to load COM objects written in C++ in j2me?
Your views will be well appreciated...
Thanx

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by Ruchika Dhingra:
1) There is so much talk about j2me enabled phones in the market these days. What OS do these phones support?

It depends on the phone. Check with the phone's vendor for more information.

2) When we talk of java class library, are we actually talking about the class files? Is there anything akin to a dll in java? Is there a way by which we can use existing dlls in j2me?
3) Is there a way to dynamically load libraries in j2me akin to dynamic loading of libraries that we have in windows?