• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

1.2 or 1.4???

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Dear sir,
I am new to the beautiful world of Java and want to sit for SCJP. But I am highly confused whether to sit for SCJP 1.2 or SCJP 1.4. I have read the SCJP faq of Javaranch and understood the difference of the objectives of these two. Still I am confused. Please help me. Thanks in advance.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
If would go for 1.4 unless you have a particular need for 1.2 (1.2 might be better when applying for a job which involves a lot of GUI work, for example, as it shows you know the AWT).
In theory the two SCJP exams are the same difficulty, so you cannot pick an 'easier' one - the pass mark for 1.4 is lower but the questions are supposedly harder than in 1.2 exam. Given that, I chose the 1.4 exam as it applies to the most recent technology and (on a more practical note) it is easier to learn assertions than I/O and the AWT.

Prosenjit Banerjee
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Dear Ben Ritchie,