• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Why certify?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
With tools like Eclipse, WebSphere, and other UI items, why is certification needed? These tools will catch errors and let you know if something can be done or not.
I am completely new to Java, but not programming. I just don't see any point to certifications. Seems to me that "street smarts" hold more value than "book smarts".
Bob

Ranch Hand
Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
At least you have something to put in your resume.
I agree that experience is worth more than just a certificate. But if a hard evidence of your capability is needed, you have to have one.

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
You'll find lots of threads on this topic if you search...
I think one of my favorite reasons to get certified is that lots of people say (including me), that studying for a certification introduces them to language features and language design intentions that they never knew before. In effect, their broadened knowledge makes their code cleaner, more debuggable, etc. There's something about studying for a certification that makes most people focus more and learn more than simply "I'm studying to get better"...

Cowgirl and Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Howdy,