• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Doubt in Overriding and method access modifier

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello everyone!!

I'm studying for the SCJP 5 exam and while doing some exercises I had a compile error with the following classes. Could anyone explain me how come is this error, please?

These is the error message:

Son.java:13: x() has protected access in inheritance.father.Father
f.x();

What I understand is that protected methods can be accesed by classes that are in the same package, also subclasses but these subclasses does not matter if they are in a different package.
With polymorphism the object type determine which method is called, not the reference type.

I thought that the variable f, which reference type is Father, is trying to access Son method x() because of polymorphism and Father does not have access to Son protected methods. But the error is telling me that the problem is with the Father method� so I got confused about what is exactly doing in compilation time.

If I change the classes to be in the same package it works fine, also If I change the access modifier method to public works fine too.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies