• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

eclipse...??

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have come accross with the word "eclipse" many times in this forum.Can some one tell me what that is?
This might sound silly..I'm sorry... but I really need your help as I'm new to s/w field itself.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
question should be posted in java beginner section. Eclipse is an IDE that can be used to write computer programs such as java. Go here for more infomation: http://www.eclipse.org/

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Slight nitpick: Eclipse is more than just an IDE. It's a rich client platform that many development companies in the Java world are increasingly running their entire applications on. (My own current project is an Eclipse-based application.)

But anyway, to Varalakshmi: you probably saw people mentioning Eclipse in this forum because it's a very good environment for quickly trying out Java concepts, thanks to its incremental compiler. I always strongly recommend keeping a copy of the Eclipse IDE open when you're studying for the SCJP so that you can write code to clarify your doubts and reinforce what you read.

Varalakshmi Ramanarayan
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks to both of you..