• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Advantage of using JMX?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am kind of new to JMX, but could somebody elaborate the advantages of using JMX over other technologies like EJB? I have read the tutorial and concepts from Sun's website, and it seems to me that the whole concept of JMX is to wrap one application or resource as MBean, register it with JMX server, and then invoke the corresponding methods from somewhere else. However, similar steps have already been taken by EJB.

Furthermore, if the whole application is on one server, which is the most common scenario, you can easily pack the resources or sub-applications as regular Java Beans, and then use them directly without worrying about the JMX server.

Probably I am just not clear what problem JMX is trying to address.

Thanks in advance!

James

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I dont know much about JMX, but I think its used for management and coordination of the system, whereas EJBs contain the business logic of the system. I presume JMX is mainly used in distributed scenarios.

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies