• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Closing original window when logging out

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I am new to JSP so I apologize if this is a trivial question. I have looked for an answer to this a fair bit and have experimented to try to see if I could get it to work but am still unable to. What I want to do is close the main application (brower) window for my JSP system when the user selects logout form the navigation menu. What it does now is to inactivate the session (good) but it doesn't close the window. If the user clicks on another menu item, a "min-version" of the original login window pops up in the main frame (bad). The code for my logout is:

<%@page language="java" %>
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body onUnload="invalidate.jsp"; mainframe.close();>
<%
%>
</html>

invalidate.jsp looks like this:

<%@page language="java" %>
<html>
<head></head>
<%
session.invalidate();
window.close();
%>
</body>
</html>

I know these are kludgey, especially because I've been hacking them for awhile so leftover stuff may still be in them. I borrowed the invalidate.jsp as a separate program idea from a former poster to this forum. I originally had it in my logout.jsp

Thanks very much in advance for any help.
farmkitty

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies