• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Passing an object parameter to an included file

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Greetings all, I'm a JSP newbie so I'm hoping someone can point out where I'm going wrong here and give me a helping hand.

The situation is that I'm iterating through a collection of objects and outputting html accordingly. The problem is that I'm using a <jsp:useBean> to pass the object to an included file and so I'm only getting to see the first element of the collection.

Code will help. The iterating code -

(which seems horribly ugly now that I'm showing it to people!)

and the included file -

I think I'm getting the same output each time because after the first iteration the bean is instantiated and so useBean doesn't create a new one, no? I know I can't use a nested param tag because they're only for string parameters.

So am I into custom tag territory? That seems overkill for just writing a bit of text. I also don't want to inline the markup from the included file as that defeats the purpose of separating it out in the first place.

Can't help but feel I'm missing something straightforward with this one. Any pointers gratefully received.
[ May 03, 2007: Message edited by: Ross Hendry ]

Sheriff
Mac Mac OS X IntelliJ IDE jQuery TypeScript Java iOS