• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

A few questions of a beginner

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi. I have a few questions, please be patient and tolerant ;-) I am only beginning:
1. what is the use of jsp:text standard action? the JSP 2.0 specs (point 6.3.9) says it must be used when I want to display template text in JSP documents (XML syntax), but actually I have been able to print text without using this action at all, just by putting it in the file, for example within the <body> tags. The only thing that is different that I noticed is that when the jsp:text has only whitespace characters, they are preserved in the output. For exanmple: "<body> </body>" is output as "<body />", and "<body><jsp:text> </jsp:text></body>" is output as "<body> </body>". Is there any other use?
2, point 1.14.2.1 in the specs (page 96), there is a table of possible conversion sources and targets, and its says at the very top, for Bean Property: "As converted by the corresponding PropertyEditor, if any,
using PropertyEditor.setAsText(string-literal) and PropertyEditor.
getValue(). If there is no corresponding PropertyEditor
or the PropertyEditor throws an exception, �null� if the