• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Oracle or DB2

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello there,
I'm trying to practice with a relational database (DBMS). Designing databases and writing Java programs that depends on this database. I have some background in this with Access and SQL Server, but i prefer to use/learn with another one.
I am seeing that i have one of two choices, IBM DB2 or Oracle.
If someone can enlighten me of what the benefits of choosing one over another, i will really appreciate it. I mean by the 'benefits':

The ease of use generally and for a Java programmer specifically.
Popularity
Job opportunities
Learning Resources
Or any aspect that you believe is important.
Cost doesn't count as i will not buy any of them for just learning and practicing

Thanks in advance.

author & internet detective
Eclipse IDE VI Editor Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Nawar,
Welcome to JavaRanch!

I don't think Oracle or IBM (db2) provide a free copy for learning. MySQL or Postgres are both free relational databases. Both use standard SQL and would be better practice than Access. MySQL has some use in industry. I'm not sure about Postgres. So to practice standard SQL/JDBC, you could use any of these. Oracle or db2 would only be needed if you are writing stored procedures.