• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Entity Bean Problem

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello Friends,
I am new to ejb, i have read that entity beans are view to the database and in ejb we dont deal with database directly rather we deal with entity beans.
My problem is if i want to find out all the employees who have salary greater than 5000(or any such query) how am i going to do this in entity beans.
plz help

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Oracle Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Prakash,
I think the answer to your question is the most popular answer in computer software, "it depends". It depends on several factors. Firstly, it depends on whether you wish to use BMP or CMP entity beans. Secondly, it depends on what EJB container you are using, and what version of the EJB specification it supports. If you are using CMP beans and an EJB container that supports (at least) version 2.0 (of the EJB specification), then you could use EJB-QL.
If you haven't done so yet, I suggest you read the EJB specification (the version that your EJB container supports) -- I found that very helpful in understanding EJB. I also recommend the following book:
http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/entjbeans3/
Hope this has helped you.
Good Luck,
Avi.

Prakash Dwivedi
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful