• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Writing a remote client to access EJBs

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,
I am a fairly experienced Java developer, but am new to EJBs. I've gone through some books and tutorials, and I think I basically understand how to write EJB server components. All of the sample applications that I wrote run fine.
Problem is, the client and server code of these sample apps all run on the same machine; the same JVM as well. What I am trying to do is write a separate, totally simple, Java app to run from the command line from another computer, separate from where the EJB container is running (I would access the server machine from the client machine over my home DSL hub.)
So my (hopefully simple) question is... what do I need for the client app? Do I need certain JAR files for it to run? I assume it needs the JNDI classes, but does it need any EJB-specific classes as well? How about my custom Enterprise Java Bean... do I need to copy over any of my own code for the client to use? Presumably the client would need the home and remote interfaces in its classpath, else it couldn't compile, but does it need any other of my code?
Presumably this is done all the time with EJBs, so hopefully someone knows the answer!
Thanks in advance!

Ranch Hand