• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

EJB CookBook... for beginners?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi... I'm relatively new to Java, but am very interested in learning more about EJB. Would you consider this a good 'starter' book to get a better understanding and closer look at Enterprise Java Beans?
Cheers!
~Tom

(instanceof Sidekick)
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I don't know about being a good "first book" on EJB, but Ed Roman's stuff is all posted on his web sites for free, which is a good reason to at least look. Google on his name, maybe try TheServerSide.com. There are a couple editions of "Mastering EJB" and maybe some other of his things out there. I had Ed himself for a class, and thought he did a good job of coaxing a bunch of newbies into EJB.

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Tom,