• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

question about the entity bean lifecycle

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
hello,

i am new to the EJB world, i created a sample entity bean which is accessed through a stateless session bean. it seems like everytime i called the findByPrimaryKey method on the entity bean, it created a new instance of the bean even i called findByPrimaryKey with exactly the same key. is it normal, or i did something wrong. coz, why does the container create new instance of the bean everytime instead of reusing the same instance to save memory? can somebody clear this out for me? thanks in advance.

william shen
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
hello, anybody can help me?

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
You need to read in the EJB spec about Option A, B and C caching. The behavior you are seeing is what is expected for Option C, where you get a new instance for every transaction. Each vendor's product vary on how you set up the caching policy in use.

Kyle

william shen
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thank you Kyle.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Entity beans stay until they are deleted.Check ur program whether u hv written any where to delete the bean.