• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Id field is a PK but is also a FK pointing towards a PK of a main table

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Gurus,

I'm a newbie to Entity Beans.

In my database, there are various tables which their ID columns derive their values from a main table's ID column. These ID columns are all primary keys to their respective tables. This also means that apart from the main table, all the ID columns are also foreign keys.

The ID column of the main table is auto-incremented. This relationship ensure that no records in the various non-main tables have the same IDs.

My problem is, how could I set up my associated entity beans of various classes to be created such that their IDs (which are PKs) are derived from the main table's auto-incremented ID column ?

Thanking you in advance,
Newbie to Entity Bean.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The constraints are implemented on the database side. Since a primay key - foreign key relationship is already defined on the database, any attempts to do an insert, with invalid data would result in CreateException being thrown.