• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

non-persistent EJB

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, im quite new to j2ee, so pls forgive me if i ask simple/stupid questions.

Is it possible to create EJBs without a DB behind them?

SessionBeans are only visible for one Client, so shared Instances must be EJBs or? Currently i just need a in-memory Bean being transactional visible to all clients. I dont need it persistent, so i thought it might be a fine idea, to avoid persisting the bean for speed-issues.

Is there some kind of Bean available for such a purpose?

Would it be possible to replicate such a in-memory bean to a failover clusternode?

Or is it necessary to persist beans being visible to all clients? (Why?)

Another question concerning clusters:
Is the appserver itself responsible for the replication process? Or is it necessary that the db itself supports some kind of master->slave replication?

thx for your help,
Bernhard Neuhauser

Ranch Hand
Firefox Browser Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by Bernhard Neuhauser:
Hi, im quite new to j2ee, so pls forgive me if i ask simple/stupid questions.

Is it possible to create EJBs without a DB behind them?