• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Extending BufferedImage

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am a bit of a newbie at this Java game, only a few months. But what I am
trying to achieve is to utilise the undoManager from Swing with a buffered
image so that I can track changes to my image, by using an
UndoableEditListener.

The way I see of doing this is to extend BufferedImage in order to apply
the listener.

I have managed to simply extend buffered image but I am falling into a problem with the BufferedImageOp interface of BufferedImage (I am using teh BufferedImageOp in the app.). Because the BufferedImageOp interface returns an instance of BufferedImage as opposed to my new extending class. I have tried casting to my new extending class but get a runtime error: java.lang.ClassCastException. So there is obivously a big gap in my knowledge.

So how do I approach this?:
  • Extend the BufferdImageOp interface too.. or
  • Write my own interface to replace bufferedImageOp (don't think it is this)
  • Or is there something I can do in my class which extends BufferedImage to deal with this???

• Just totally stumped.

Thanks for taking the time to read

cheers
    Martin

Ranch Hand
    • Mark post as helpful
    • send pies