• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

how to place Panel into Frame

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Everybody !! I am new to Swing and am working on a GUI based Elevator Simulation System. I am using Frame on which I am trying to put a Panel. But the panel does not set to the size I want it to even if I use setSize() method. I am posting the code .Could anyone please help me.

Thanks !!

Bartender
Android Google Web Toolkit Mac Eclipse IDE Ubuntu Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by vivek modi:
Hi Everybody !! I am new to Swing and am working on a GUI based Elevator Simulation System. I am using Frame on which I am trying to put a Panel. But the panel does not set to the size I want it to even if I use setSize() method. I am posting the code .Could anyone please help me.

Thanks !!

To achieve the desired result, you need to change two things:

1)The content pane has a BorderLayout by default. So when you say the lp1 is set to the Center which ignores the panel dimension. So you need to call before adding the components, which will start respecting the panel dimensions

2)Use instead of setSize. Whenever a container lays out the components inside, it queries for the preferred size.