• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

which Collection?

Ranch Hand
MySQL Database Suse
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm hoping to use a Collection for the following specs:
my requirement is that I have a class (MasterRate) with country code, calling rate, effective start date, effective end date ( there are a bunch more, but are just informational values ). I need to be able to hold the MasterRates in a collection, and search the collection which will bring back a match on the country code and DATE where DATE is between the effective start and effective end date.
I was thinking of modifying the MasterRate.equals() method to also check for equality with a new class ( we'll call it SearchRate ) which would have the same hashCode() method. Add the MasterRate's to a HashSet and let the HashSet do the work. But I'm a little uneasy about messing with the equals() method, and introducing some possible hard to trace bugs.
Any other suggestions or comments welcome
Jamie

Sheriff
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hum IMHO you can't get there that way. HashMap relies heavily on the hashCode method for determining equality. To get SearchRate to return the same hashcode as MasterRate when appropriate would be difficult if not out and out impossible.