• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Sharing across MVC

Greenhorn
Netbeans IDE
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm writing a program to collect and display currency prices. This is my first attempt at developing to the Model-View-Controller design pattern.

My question: how to design the structure of the program so that common objects and design elements are available to the model, the view and the controller.

For example, I want to create a 'properties' object that will contain all of the properties of my program. Some of these properties will be accessed by the model code, some by the view and some by the controller.

Isn't having a single properties file/object breaking the independance of the M V and C? Should I think about having 3 separate properties files? After all, if I want to replace the View with another completly different view, I shouldn't have to 'disentangle' my view properties from the M and C properties.

If I can get away with having one file/object, how should I pass this object to the M, V and C? Is there a 'central' object that acts as the 'conductor' to the M V and C?

I would imagine that this is a common problem that applies to other objects that should be shared between the MVC components.