• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Java or... dilemma of a poor newbie

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
My dear friends,
I am fairly new to programming and have these two absolutely gorgeous and highly usefull books in front of me as ushers into the programming world: Sun's official guide to Java (e-format)and a book about XML (printed, thicker than the Bible but comprehensive nontheless)... here is my trouble:
Which one should I pick first to read and learn? Should learning Java come before XML, or vice versa? I need to focus on only one of them, I cannot do both at the same time... my current job (that I want to change)requires my attention too, so focus is important for me... if any of the seasoned programmers read these lines, would you go first for XML, if it was an option when you were learning Java? I know Java and XML are very different in essence, but I need your opinion on this...
Thanks in advance...

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Go for Java.
You can give all sorts of really sane, or even sage, reasons to choose either XML or Java, but the bottom line is simply that Java is fun, whilst XML is about as boring as it gets...

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies