• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

learning JAVA

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
can someone tell me what are the programs needed to learn JAVA..
Like the Compiler version,the server needed on running JSP,the text editor suited for it and the IDE something and so on and so forth..
im a newbie on it..

thanx

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,

You have, J2ME (Micro Edition); This is a compact version of standard J2SE
J2SE is the Java standard edition. This is a good starting point because all of your fundamentals are learned here.
Then there is J2EE which is more for businesses and JSPs are also involved.
There are some other technologies for Java that I'm not qualified to discuss, but these 3 are the "BIG" ones on sun's website.

To learn java... Sun's course path starts at J2SE naturally. If you start you'll need the java SDK (Standard Developement Kit). This is free from java.sun.com.

There is a new edition refered to as "Tiger". This is the Java2 1.5 version.

I have only used windows note pad to write and edit code. I typically do things the hard way so I'm sure there are some nice IDE's out there that help things along.

There is a free NetBeans IDE on Sun's website for J2EE, but I've not really used this.