• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Question about return and System.out.println()

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi guys,

I'm new to Java programming and I just read a few chapters of the textbook my instructor assigned. I'm a little confused about some statement usage:

I wrote a class containing 2 methods look like this:

public void method-name()
{
System.out.println("Hello");
}

AND

public String method-name()
{
return "Hello";
}

After compiling, I created an object of this class. It turns out I got the same result when I call those methods to this object I just created. However these are two types of methods which are procedure and function respectively,so what is the difference between the usage of them?

Why can I still get an string-like result using the method with "void" specified? Shouldn't that return no value?

and how can I get rid of the double quotation marks around the words with return statement?

thank you very much!

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
First, you cannot get rid of the quotation marks from the return "Hello"; statement, because to indicate that a phrase is a string, you have to put quatation marks around that phrase (otherwise the compiler won't know what it is).