• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Beginner Yahtzee Progam

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am relatively new to Java and while searching through the other posts i found a topic on a Yahtzee program. I decided to give it a go....but would love to hear input on what ive done wrong or improvements that could be made?

This is my first attempt, it is only for user input at the command line as i dont have much experience creating GUI's. Also lack of completed comments due to not much time as off 2 work in a min but figured u would get wots going on neway

First Class - Yahtzee

Second Class - Dice

Third and last class - Score

The program seems to work fine, only put a few bits of error checking etc in atm. sure it could be crashed by a user somewhere lol!

Thank you and i am looking forward to hearing back.

John

[ January 25, 2006: Message edited by: John Bartlett ]

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,

im not quite sure what your question is. There's quite alot of code, and
I havn't read it in detail, but overall it looks ok. You've got a class
for each area of responsibility:

- Yahtzee (main)
- Dice
- Score

What's the purpose of the program? school project, or are you just interested in learning Java?

/Svend Rost

author
  • Mark post as helpful