• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How long does it take?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have been studying Java for around 5-6 months or so, and I probably understand 50% of everything I have studies so far, but when I sit down to just write a program, I can't ever seem to get something going..

How long does it take to understand Java pretty well, and be able to make a program from scratch?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Ya know, I was thinking the very same thing today. I was finishing up another assignment and starting a new one and totally getting lost again. I think I understand what is required, but I still cant, yet, just sit down and write a simple program without digging in the docs and books and forums and google to put it all together. It is a lot to remember. I find myself plugging ahead anyway writing program assignments like following recipies. The longer I do this the more I see my lack of true understanding of the conceptual stuff.

I 've been at it just a short time myself, about 5 weeks. I really love learning Java. It is the most frustrating, depressing, euphoric, fun, rage inducing thing I have ever been involved with.

PS. I dont think the need to consult forums and reference material will ever not be there.

bill

Ranch Hand