• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Code Barn example Shape - I have a question..

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi there everyoe.

I am new to Java Ranch and new to Java and I am studying hard to try and get the SCJP cert.

In the Code Barn there is an example called Shape which is a demo of Polymorphism for beginners.

It uses a method which it invokes using;
g.fillRect(x, y, wide, high, color)

where g refernces the Graphics class from the java.awt package.

My question is "If the filRect method is an abstract method, which it appears to be from the Java API docs, how come I can use that method without writing the code for it?"

When I looked up the method in the Java API I did not expect it to be abstract.

Bartender
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Most of the methods in Graphics and Graphics2D are in fact abstract. The thing is you don't actually get passed a Graphics Object but rather you get passed an object which is a subclass of the Graphics class, one which has implemented all of the methods. If you want to see what you are actually being passed add the following line to your paint() method (where g is the graphics object being passed to the paint method).

Rory Lynch
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks Tony.