• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Question from Just Java 2

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all, I'm new to all this and am trying to learn through the book Just Java 2, but one of the very first excercises has me stumped!
It's a simple digital clock, and the problem is to change the file that handles the view so that it displays roman numerals instead of "regular" numbers. Here's the original code to display normally:

I thought an easy way to change it (and the book didn't really explain a lot in this chapter) was to just use some if--else like so:

But after doing that the clock still shows arabic numerals only without a zero before single digits since I removed the if (i<10) part.
Please forgive me for asking what I know must be a really stupid question to many of you.
Thank you for your help.

Sheriff
Mac Safari Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to JavaRanch!

Your approach to modifying the method looks like it should work. Can you post more complete code to demonstrate how it's not working?

Jon Lewis
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Marc, thanks for the reply and kind welcome.