• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Multiple file Project

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have never worked on one before so Im trying to sort stuff out here.
A guy is the project leader and has created the GUI already. He has one file that sets up the GUI. Then another file as the actionlistener on the menu. He has four "status areas" at the bottom of the screen of the GUI. When someone clicks File New the infoArea0 is supposed to say NEW. With this being on a separate file I do not have access to the infoArea0 so how do I get access to it. I have copied and pasted that file into the file that creates the GUI and it worked. I just need that other file to have access(rights) to it. Any way to do this? I kinda think it should all be one file(anything dealing with the GUI) and have it call Classes to process things.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I dont know what you want really.

But yes you're right, you need to couple things that belong together(cohesion).

All the user interface should be separate from the actual funcioning code.
so yes, have outside classes that you call in the GUI to do the work for you.

ok, nevermind, I understand now.