• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

About changing window state of a portlet without a ActionResponse

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, guys,
I am a student trying to develop a portal in my group project, and I met a problem and would really appreciate if you can provide some help.
There are two of those portlets in our application, namely ConfigPortlet and DisplayPortlet, in the ConfigPortlet, the user choose the content they want to see, and the DisplayPortlet displays the content. This can be done following the "session and interportlet communication" example in a book I bought "Building portals with the java portlet API". But one addtional requirement is that when the user click on the submit button in the ConfigPortlet, it minimizes itself, and maximizes the DisplayPortlet. Minimizing the ConfigPortlet is easy, since there is an ActionResponse object being generated when the submit button is click, we can do that in the ProcessAction method or we can do that after generating the PortletURL object using response.createActionURL(). But I am stuck in how to maximize the DisplayPortlet, since there is no ActionResponse object being generated in this portlet, it just get the session data from the ConfigPortlet......
Above is my problem and thank you in advance.
Regards,
Logan