• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Is it fair to pay a average software techie more?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Dear all,
I'm a software engineer from India. I've been in this field for the past one year specializing myself in Java Technologies in the past 3 years( 2 years on learning Java & related technologies & doing certifications and nearly 1 year in the field).
Also academically, I do specialize in this field for 6 years.
So a total of 9 years in this field.
The intention of this post is to know the facts & opinions about the percentage of the skilled force or people available in the industry from a Junior software engineer position to the Technical architect.
With my limited knowledge I understand a skilled person is one
1) who has good analytical & problem solving skills.
2) who understands the functional requirements of the system or product completely for which he should have good communication skills & domain knowledge,experience etc.
3) who has good knowledge & experience on the technology.
(like ability to code,innovate, design & understanding the implications of the design etc)
4) good soft skills.