• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

graph plotting

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new here and impressed from your forum. I'm quite new in Java and i need some help regarding the Frame and Graphics classes in java.

I have written 3 classes (function, parabola and polynomial), which represent functions with a variable . I want to extend my function class with a method named public void plot(double xmin, double xmax), which opens a frame with the graph of determined function. the parameter xmin and xmax give the x-area, where the graph should be drawn. A labeld coordinate axis must also appear in the frame. Can you help me?

Here are my classes :

Bartender
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Some useful FAQ links that may have some bearing on your post:

ShowSomeEffort
DoYourOwnHomework
BeForthrightWhenCrossPostingToOtherSites
the last refers to this link and possibly others: graph-plotting.html

and the general FAQ: HowToAskQuestionsOnJavaRanch

Hope this helps.

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The PlotTest and PlotSineCurve examples in the CodeBarn may provide some inspiration: http://faq.javaranch.com/java/CodeBarnIntermediateJava

Sirine Sirin
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies