• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

setting / accessgin Java Bean between page and servlet.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to JSP. I wanted to send bean object from page to servlet and then change bean's data in servlet and then set it back to the page. So I created a bean and included it in the page as below

<jsp:useBean id="beanobj" class="mypkg.mybean" scope="application" />

When it try to get data in servlet using the following code, I get error. Null pointer exception.

mybean beanobj = new mybean();
beanobj = (mybean)req.getAttribute("beanobj");

I have tried both with and without following tag
<jsp:setProperty name="beanobj" property="*"/>

This is one part of the problem. javascript:emoticon('');

The other part is that I want to set the bean data in servlet and then send that bean to page so that by making --> this code <%=beanobj.getName%> as the value of my html text box, I could see the value from bean. This does not work, however if I use EL, that works i.e. ${beanobj.name}.