• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

When leaving a page need to set a boolean to false no matter

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

Im very new to JSP/JSF and need some guidance on how to set a boolean in my backer bean to be false. The general situation that I'm in now is , I get some information from the database and populate the page all in a getter on the page. It seems that the getter for values on a jsp are called numerous times . I obviously don't want this to happen multiple times and so i set a boolean to true after the first time it happens. If the user decided to click on a nav link instead of pressing the button on the page, I need to change this boolean back to false. I looked into onunload, but didn't get very far with it. Am I heading in the right direction?

ty

Sheriff
Mac Mac OS X IntelliJ IDE jQuery TypeScript Java iOS
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Please be sure to ask JSF questions in the JSF forum. I have moved this post there for you.

Jason Delboch
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Was under the impression this was a jsp matter... anyway sry, still need help

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Place them in separate forms or make use of outputlinks instead of commandlinks for navigation.

Jason Delboch
Greenhorn