• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Problems changing foreign key references in Grails?

Bartender
Scala Python Oracle Postgres Database Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Has anybody else out there had problems changing foreign key references in Grails?

I am fairly new to Java/Grails, and I'm trying to build an Oracle-based system that will have a number of reference data tables, plus a few application data tables. The ref data table records typically have a CODE and DESCRIPTION, and the application data records use these codes. If possible, I want the child records (the app data) to contain the actual code for a reference record, rather than just a surrogate numeric ID, because the data will make sense more easily to users who access it via SQL etc.

By analogy, if I had a Department (String deptCode, String deptName), and a Department can have many Employees, then the Employee's FK back to the Department should be the deptCode, not an arbitrary ID. And an Employee should be able to change Departments i.e. I need to be able to update the FK association.

Of course, by default, Grails/Hibernate adds a numeric surrogate ID to each class/table, which is populated from a DB sequence in Oracle, and uses that as the primary key.