• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How can I leverage my SCJP certification in an interview?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am scheduled to take the SCJP certification exam in a month. I have plenty of classroom experience with Java and I am about to dive into the new SCJP Study guide by Bates and Sierra.

Now for my question. I know that there is no substitute for experience, but apparently I don't have the necessary "experience" to get the "experience" I need to attract employers. I have been advised to go for certifications by the company that was supposed to hire me out of school in order to improve me resume, but honestly what would an SCJP certification give my resume that my bachelors degree in a technical background wouldn't? The only clear benefit to my resume of taking the SCJP certification is that it would show that I take initiative. I want you guys to discuss what in your opinions are some angles that someone could "sell" their SCJP certification?

author
jQuery Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser VI Editor C++ Chrome Java Linux Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

The only clear benefit to my resume of taking the SCJP certification is that it would show that I take initiative.