• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How to answer a tech question you have not worked on.

Ranch Hand
IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello,

I am a Java/J2EE professional with 7 years of experience on technologies like Struts, Spring, Hibernate, JUnit, XML e.t.c. Of late I'm looking out for a new position and have been actively taking up interviews for the same. Like any other 'human being', I have worked on the above mentioned technologies but have not explored all the features they provide. So when I'm asked about something I have not worked with I answer,

"I have not worked on ------. And from what I know about the framework/technology, ------- is the way it works and -------- is the way you can get it done."

Is this a right way to answer this question or should I just go ahead and mention what I know about it without saying that I have not worked with it?

Thanks,
Raj.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I think that is correct way to answer. No one use everything in project. If you have knowledge you can tell you know how to use it.

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Your answer is fine. The key is "I don't know, but here are things I do know about."

I've posted about this before at How to say "I don't know" effectively.

Sheriff