• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Max concurrent requests on Tomcat

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello all,
I'm pretty new to the whole multi-threading high performance issues so please excuse me if I confuse things.
I have a web-app which uses long polling (a client sends a request to the server and returns until there's new data or timeout and then requests again) because we need to be updated allways. For many reasons I can't use Tomcat's advanced NIO or Jetty continuations etc...
So now I have an app where I have to be able to serve a 1000 concurrent users which, as I understand it, will be sending a request and tying up a 1000 threads (please correct me if I'm wrong here).
My question is basically this:
How many concurrent threads can the Tomcat hold? Is 300 a reasonable number?
What kind of hardware requirements do I need from a server if I want it to hold 4 Tomcat instances and a load-balancer while remembering that I'll have around 1100 open threads at all times?

Thank you for any help you can give me and if any additional info is needed please don't hesitate to ask
Ittai

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
In my opinion 1000 is a very high number.

200-300 should be ok, and max number of request threads inside Tomcat can be configured.