• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

General JSF page navigation questions

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I've been experimenting in JSF for about three months now.

I've been working on a simple web app that searches for whatever the user types in an inputText field, then displays a new page of search results. The web app is modeled after a JSF book example I've read.

The JSF examples in the book I'm reading make JSF look really simple, there aren't any Servlets being used in the sense of specifically processing a doPost or doing anything specifically with the request and response objects, nor any filters, etc. The examples just seem to let the JSF framework take care of everything. All you get is this nice little "type something, click here" example and you end up not knowing what is really going on in the background.

The original design of my web app would navigate to an error.jsp if what the user entered in the textbox was not found. I thought that might be a good solution until I started dealing with the browser Back button and the fact that the session is holding on to a search variable that is no good. I don't want to mess with the Browser, or use JavaScript if possible (not that I can't, I just don't want to if I don't have to).