• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Conceptual Doubt regarding Web Services

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to Web Service design, and right now I'm working on a project which requires a Web Service, and its interaction with another element (a 'Server' class which should always be connected to another system). The webservice works great by itself, and same thing with the server, the problem is how to communicate with each other. Let me try to clarify what I want to acheive:

. ___________________________________________
((Internet)) ---------> | Java Web Service (1) --RMI---> Comm. Server (2) | <----------> Another Server
. ------------------------------------------------------------

"I get a post from the internet, my Java Web Service (1) receives the post and should execute a method [sendMessage(String msg, String destination) or similar] on Comm. Server (2) which ALWAYS has an active connection to "Another Server".

So I need the following in order for my application to run correctly:
1. Launch Comm. Server (2) (so it can establish a connection to "Another Server" and remain always active)
2. A way of calling the method "sendMessage(msg,destination)" that resides on Comm. Server (2) from within Java Web Service (1).