• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

multi dimension array

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
hello,

I am just getting started with Java and it's good fun.

I'd need to know a couple of things.
I hope someone here will be able to shed some light on the following questions for me

First: is it possible to have a multi dimension array using different types of variables?
let's say the first dimension would be int, the 2nd dimension would be a string...

2nd: in the code (see below) I am using a 2 dimensions array and I store some values into it like this:
multiDollar[i][0] = dollarEarned[i];
multiDollar[0][i] = dollarEarned2[i];

is it possible to do this using a single line?

3rd: apparently there is a problem in my loop as the out.println return only 2000

Really sorry if these questions are trivial but I have just started sinking my teeth in Java...
Thanks!

4th: in Eclipse is it possible like in Excel VBA to define 2 points in the code, execute the code and when the program reaches point 1 stops, you can then execute the rest manually and check the values in the variables. (I found the "watch" feature really useful in VBA to debug a few problems in my loops)