• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

h:form vs a4j:form

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi to all,
I am new to jsf.I am trying to write code in jsf. i so confused with h:form and a4j:form.So I need a difference between h:form and a4j:form.Up to my knowledge,
a4j:form is used for ajax request.It converts non-ajaxable component like a h:commandbutton to ajaxable component.Please give any other difference between the above two.
Thanks in advance.

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Muneeswaran,

In my humble opinion, the use of Ajax4JSF isn't needed any more. I think you'll be better of by using components that have AJAX functionality embedded. Take a look at the MyFaces Trinidad component set for example. They already have AJAX embedded in the components.

That set, most component sets (Trinidad included) have their own "form" component. The best thing to do is to choose a single component set for your project and use that set for everything. Then you can use that component set's form component on all your pages.

I hope this will help you with your first steps on the JSF path.

Best regards,
Bart Kummel

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies