• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Configuring webapp to use subdirectories

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I've been trying to figure out how to do this for a while, and it just doesn't make sense. I'm a novice with tomcat/java so bear with me if the question is silly.

I have an app called infocenter.war. Currently, I deploy it within $tomcat_home/webapps/ what i'd like to do, is deploy it(only) in a subdirectory.. so I'll have the following.

$tomcat_home/webapps/app1.war
$tomcat_home/webapps/app1/META-INF
$tomcat_home/webapps/app1/WEB-INF
$tomcat_home/webapps/subdirectory/infocenter.war
$tomcat_home/webapps/subdirectory/infocenter/META-INF
$tomcat_home/webapps/subdirectory/infocenter/WEB-INF
$tomcat_home/webapps/app2.war
$tomcat_home/webapps/app2/META-INF
$tomcat_home/webapps/app2/WEB-INF

I'll have apache in front of this, proxying requests to all the applications. Right now my relevant apache rules/config are as follows

RewriteRule ^/old/infocenter/?$ http://www.newsite.com/infocenter/index.jsp [R=301,L]
RewriteRule ^/infocenter/index.jsp http://www.newsite.com/infocenter/index.jsp [R=301,L]

JkMount /infocenter worker2
JkMount /infocenter/* worker2
JkMount /app1 worker2
JkMount /app1/* worker2
JkMount /app2 worker2
JkMount /app2/* worker2