• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Approaching J2EE Development

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm a college student working on some mobile applications this summer and I've been using servlets /w apache tomcat on Amazon EC2 instances for my backend. Before a few weeks ago, I never had never touched servlets or even heard of object persistence or EJB's. Anyways, there's obviously a lot to know and more than 1 way to skin a cat... I'm wondering based on other peoples experiences what is the best way to get into the brunt of J2EE development to ensure that whatever I am making is scalable.

Author
IntelliJ IDE Ruby
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Don't optimize prematurely. (Do you really anticipate scalability issues? Most people don't have them in any meaningful way.) Don't over-complicate things: pick the lightest-weight solution that works.

It's impossible to help beyond that at this point--we know nothing about what you're doing, how you're doing it, etc. There's certainly no reason to be talking about EJBs at this point, even the easier/lighter version available EJB 3+.