• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Can struts repopulate collection from html:select upon submit?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello Experts -

I'm new to the html:select control, and am not sure if it even supports what I want to do.

My html:select displays a drop down menu with all my choices in it on the browser. When I hit submit, I want it to repopulate the form bean with all those same choices, in addition to populating one field with the choice selected. Will struts repopulate all the choices too?

If so, can you give some pointers? Here's a snippet of code. I want it to repopulate the regions collection upon submission.

<html:select name='SearchForm' property="selectedId" size="1">
<html ption value="-1">-- Select Region --</html ption>
<html ptionsCollection property='regions' value="internalId" label="name"/>
</html:select>

thanks in advance.
Steve

author & internet detective
Eclipse IDE VI Editor Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Steve,
Welcome to JavaRanch!

If the list of regions is still in the session, Struts will use it. This isn't part of the form, so it is somewhat independent of Struts. Populating the actual selected element is the job of the action form.

Steve Line
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies